Contact Us
New Rochelle Daily Voice serves New Rochelle, NY
Return to your home site


New Rochelle Daily Voice serves New Rochelle, NY

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Mayer Wins Westchester State Senate Seat In Special Election
police & fire

New Rochelle Police Host Memorial And Awards Ceremony

New Rochelle celebrated Police Memorial Week with the annual ceremony.
Police Officer of the Year John Ladeairous with New Rochelle Police Commissioner Patrick Carroll.

NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y. – Some of New Rochelle’s Finest were honored for their commitment to the city as police and elected officials came together in observance of Police Memorial Week.

The New Rochelle Police Department held its annual Memorial and Awards Ceremony on Wednesday night at the Greentree Country Club to celebrate members of the department and remember those who have fallen in the line of duty.

Det. Keith Murphy and officers Hung Haw Chern and Dwayne Jones received the Police Commissioner’s Award, while Det. Rocco Oppedisano was granted the Lifesaving Award.

John Ladeairous was named the Police Officer of the Year and Community Service Officer Francesco Rizzuti was named the Civilian Employee of the Year. Felipe Zamora was tabbed as the Citizen of the Year. Elementary students Logan Zaino (Davis), Carly Rieger (Webster) and Alondra Barajas (Columbus) were the top three finishers for the Police Memorial Essay Award.

Other awards included:

Class “C” Citation

Lt. William Childs Lt. Raul Rodriguez Sgt. Matthew Brady Sgt. Adam Castiglia Det. Keith Murphy Det. Michael Regina PO Nicole DeCarlo PO Francis Flanigan PO Thomas Gorgorian PO Dwayne Jones PO Sean Kane PO Jose Pena PO Lane Schlesinger PO Nicholas Trikedes

Commendation Award

Sgt. Brian Fagan Sgt. William Walsh (2) Det. Timothy Adrian (2) Det. Daniel Benge

Chamber of Commerce Investigator of the Year Award Det. Isabel O’Rourke

TransCare Ambulance Lifesaver of the Year Award PO Lane Schlesinger PO Juan Torres

New Rochelle Municipal Housing Authority Recognition Award PO Dwayne Jones

Eugene Frank Problem Solving Award Det. Michael Regina

One-Year Attendance Award Deputy Commissioner Anthony Murphy Lt. William Childs Lt. J. Collins Coyne Det. Michael Ciafardini Det. Dario Navarrete PO John Lynch PO Kathleen O’Connor CSO Richard Macafity CSO Kenneth Schena Civilian Delsa Castillo

Two-Year Attendance Award Lt. Gary Robinson Det. Gregory Herring Det. Keith Murphy PO Anthony Colotti PO Anthony D’Angelo

Three-Year Attendance Award Lt. Christopher Hearle Lt. William Schulman Sgt. Myron Joseph Det. Evangelos Geralis PO Luigi Amico Det. Michael Ciafardini Det. Kevin McKenna Det. Keith Murphy Det. Isabel O’Rourke Det. Vincent Pisano Det. Michael Regina Det. Joseph Savoca Det. Glen Spinner PO Kimberley Boneski (2) PO Lawrence Bornholz (3) PO Ryan Downs PO Matthew Glass PO Dwayne Jones (2) PO Sean Kane (2) PO Matthew McKay PO Jason Redner PO Lane Schlesinger PO Craig Wolf

Four-Year Attendance Award Captain Joseph Schaller Det. Denise Waters

Five-Year Attendance Award PO Gary Lehning

Six-Year Attendance Award Sgt. Timothy Kelly PO Francesco Provenzale

Seven-Year Attendance Award Sgt. Daniel Conca Det. Claudio Carpano

Eight-Year Attendance Award PO Adalberto Aguilar

Nine-Year Attendance Award Police Commissioner Patrick J. Carroll Lt. Cosmo Costa Sgt. Edward Hayes Det. Michael Ciafardini

Ten-Year Attendance Award

Sgt. Robert Torr

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

New Rochelle Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.